Friday, November 12, 2010


Although their third American album was patched together (in the usual British Invasion tradition) from a variety of sources, it's their best early R&B-oriented effort. Most of the Stones' early albums suffer from three or four very weak cuts; Now! is almost uniformly strong start-to-finish, the emphasis on some of their blackest material. The covers of "Down Home Girl," Bo Diddley's vibrating "Mona," Otis Redding's "Pain in My Heart," and Barbara Lynn's "Oh Baby" are all among the group's best R&B interpretations. The best gem is "Little Red Rooster," a pure blues with wonderful slide guitar from Brian Jones (and a number one single in Britain, although it was only an album track in the U.S.). As songwriters, Jagger and Richards are still struggling, but they come up with one of their first winners (and an American Top 20 hit) with the yearning, soulful "Heart of Stone." ~ Richie Unterberger, All Music Guide

Tracks :

Side one

1. "Everybody Needs Somebody to Love" (Solomon Burke/Bert Berns/Jerry Wexler) 5:05
2. "Down Home Girl" (Jerry Leiber/Arthur Butler) 4:11
3. "You Can't Catch Me" (Chuck Berry) 3:38
4. "Heart of Stone" 2:58
5. "What a Shame" 3:03
6. "Mona (I Need You Baby)" (Ellas McDaniel) 3:35
Side two

7. "Down the Road Apiece" (Don Raye) 2:55
8. "Off the Hook" 2:36
9. "Pain in My Heart" (Allen Toussaint) 2:12
10. "Oh Baby (We Got a Good Thing Goin')" (Barbara Lynn Ozen) 2:06
11. "Little Red Rooster" (Willie Dixon) 3:04
12. "Surprise, Surprise"

1 comment:

tracker tracker