Wednesday, January 7, 2009


Although Introspection bombed due to a belated release, collectors have since heralded the End's album as one of the finest from the brief British psychedelia wave. Produced by Rolling Stone Bill Wyman in early 1968, the spirit of the era (or maybe that of the previous summer) is sonically created with sumptuous results. Colin Giffin and Nicky Graham's gentle harmony vocals tread a similar path to Odessey and Oracle-era Zombies, while sessionman Nicky Hopkins' harpsichord, a pumping Hammond, Terry Taylor's searing Cream-like fuzztone guitar leads, psychedelic duel-ragas, and floating Mellotron re-create the colors of a rainbow. The overall effect is psych pop rather than acid-inspired mayhem, although the drifting ambience of the production, lyricism, and instrumentation could not be anything else but a product of psychedelia. A majority of the numbers were clearly influenced by the Their Satanic Majesties' Request sessions that Wyman had been undertaking -- and indeed Wyman co-wrote two songs -- although the the End's more commercial pop edge forged a sound distant from the Rolling Stones. With an abundance of moods, tones, and a gloriously over-the-top production, Introspection is a superb period piece, and rightfully deserves it's near-classic status. [This version of the album contains bonus material.] ~ Jon "Mojo" Mills, All Music Guide

Tracks :

1. Dreamworld
2. Under The Rainbow
3. Shades Of Orange
4. Bromley Common
5. Cardboard Watch
6. Introspection - Part One
7. What Does It Feel Like ?
8. Linen Draper
9. Don't Take Me
10. Loving , Sacred Loving
11. She Said Yeah
12. Jacob's Bladder
13. Introspection - Part Two
14. Shades Of Orange - Mono Single Version - Bonus Track
15. Loving, Sacred Loving - Mono Single Version - Bonus Track

Link : @

Ripped by: evermoreblues
Artwork Included


  1. Never heard of these cats. Thanks for a new sound to tickle me ears!

  2. Thanks you (and sex machine B. Wyman) for this gem. Peace


tracker tracker