Tuesday, December 16, 2008


The Sensational Alex Harvey Band was formed when Scottish rock veteran Alex Harvey recruited members of hard rock group Tear Gas at the beginning of the 70's. Although most people associate them with their big hit 'Delilah', the band were already well established on the rock circuit, due to their theatrical show, and their destinctive style of music. The band split up at the end of 1977 just after a tour had been announced, with Alex resurrecting his solo career and the rest of the group forming the short-lived Zal band with guitarist Billy Rankin & ex-Tubes member Leroi.

Alex did a show at the London Palladium 1978 which got mixed reviews, then formed the 'Alex Harvey Band', which recorded 'The Mafia Stole My Guitar', They did a tour in 1978, but then dissapeared. After several years out of the limelight, Alex seemed ready to return in 1982 with a new album 'Soldier On The Wall' ready for release, and a tour in Europe. Sadly the album was to be his requiem, as he died whilst waiting for a ferry in Belgium that same year.

The remaining members of SAHB re-formed for a number of one-off gigs in the 90's, with various vocalists, but in 2004 decided to re-form on a permanent basis. Although no new material has been released, the band are touring regularly, and have brought out a live CD and DVD.

1 The Tale Of The Giant Stone Eater
2 Action Strasse
3 Gang Bang
4 Next
5 Give My Compliments To The Chef
6 Framed
Brass - Big Bud's Brass
Engineer - Mike Bobak
Saxophone [Tenor] - Phil Kenzie
7 Tomorrow Belongs To Me
8 Sergeant Fury
Engineer - Cyrano , Martin Rushent
Vocals - Vicky Silva*
9 Delilah (Live)
Engineer - John Punter
Steel Guitar - BJ Cole
10 Faith Healer
11 Boston Tea Party
12 Vambo Part 1
13 Dogs Of War
14 Giddy Up A Ding Dong

Link : @

Ripped by : evermoreblues
Artwork Included

No comments:

Post a Comment

tracker tracker