Thursday, December 18, 2008


Potemkine managed to blend in a very good way the basis of Zeuhl music with its prominent bass role and a lighthearted spirit of fusion with some 20th century contemporary music. They this deviate from the norm of “mainstream” Zeuhl, but they manage to deliver an original sound, making them unique in this scene. Potemkine was formed by three brothers from Toulouse – Charles (guitars, piano, vocals), Philippe (drums and percussions, piano) and Michel (piano, vocals) Goubin. They had taken other musicians to fill in the positions of bass, violin and some drumming and percussions parts. They released their first album Foetus in 1975. This album was more influenced by Magma, though it contained the fusion leniency. In 1977 Triton was released and it featured a more clear inclination towards a fusion sound, but the Zeuhl characteristics are still there (in the bass part, theatrical piano playing and the occasional chanting vocals) and also the chamber music sound that would later appear in RIO originators bands such as Univers Zero. This approach reached its peak in Nicolas II released in 1978 which also marks their last album. You can get both Triton and Nicolas II on CD from SOLEIL ZEUHL.

Tracks :

1. Tango Panache (6:18)
2. Raspoutine (5:56)
3. Theme Pour Un Swing Imaginaire (5:37)
4. Air De Famille (3:19)
5. Ode De Mars (5:23)
6. Aux Images (2:41)
7. Amphitheatre Magique (6:45)

Bonus tracks:
8. Laure (4:32)
9. Foetus (6:18)
10. Hymne (2:00)
11. Ballade (6:17)
12. Cycles (2:17)
13. Nuit Sur Le Golan (2:19)
14. Cedille (5:56)

Link : @

Raspoutine Fixed @

Artwork Included


  1. Hello can you check track 2, there ares ome skip sounds please.

    see you.

  2. Hello, wonderful album potemkine one of the most important French progressive bands from the late 60's, by the way I'm looking for a group from Poland Exodus the most beautiful day thanks.


tracker tracker