Thursday, November 6, 2008

SEA LEVEL - S/T 1977

Fusion combo Sea Level was formed in 1976 by keyboardist Chuck Leavell, bassist Lamar Williams, and drummer Jai Johanny "Jaimoe" Johanson following their exit from the Allman Brothers Band. gGitarist Jimmy Nalls completed the original lineup, which in 1977 issued its self-titled debut LP on the Capricorn label.

Honing its distinctive marriage of rock, blues, and jazz through relentless touring, the group returned to the studio to cut 1978's Cats on the Coast, followed later that year by On the Edge. Although Jaimoe returned to the Allmans, Sea Level recorded two more albums -- 1979's Long Walk on a Short Pier and 1980's Ball Room -- before dissolving.

Leavell later emerged as a sought-after session player and producer, also touring with the Rolling Stones, and in 1998 he issued his debut solo LP, 'What's in That Bag?'.
Sea Level's debut album was originally released February 1977 as Capricorn CP-0178.

Tracks :

1. Rain In Spain
2. Shake A Leg
3. Tidal Wave
4. Country Fool
5. Nothing Matters But The Fever
6. Grand Larceny
7. Scarborough Fair
8. Just A Good Feeling

Link : @

Ripped by : evermoreblues
Artwork Included

1 comment:

  1. Thank you, highly! I was ready to rip my own vinyl to hear this again and stumbled onto your blog instead!


tracker tracker