Sunday, October 26, 2008

Kind of a minor league version of the Doors, Clear Light were a West Coast phenomenon, and although they didn't last too long, were an interesting group. A very good slice of Los Angeles psychedelia, Clear Light were a six-piece band that combined folk, rock, psychedelia, and even a touch of classical to their sound. The end result, though, is a little ponderous and pretentious, but strangely listenable. The big hit off this album (produced by Paul Rothchild and engineered by Bruce Botnick) was "Mr. Blue," a psychedelic folk song written by Tom Paxton. It's over six-minutes long and a bit overbaked, but it does have an odd appeal. The finer moments are guitarist Bob Seal's psychedelic folk-rock songs, namely "With All in Mind" and "They Who Have Nothing." Singer Cliff DeYoung went on to have a successful acting career, bass player Doug Lubahn played on the early Doors albums, Dallas Taylor went on to drum for Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young and John Sebastian, and keyboardist Ralph Schuckett became one of the more popular West Coast session players and arrangers. A lot of talent in a short-lived ensemble. Dated but charming West Coast psychedelia. ~ Matthew Greenwald, All Music Guide

Tracks :

01 Black Roses 2:09
02 Sand 2:38
03 A Child's Smile 1:37
04 Street Singer 3:17
05 The Ballad of Freddie & Larry 1:56
06 With All in Mind 2:58
07 She's Ready to Be Free [bonus track] 1:58
08 Mr. Blue 6:25
09 Think Again 1:37
10 They Who Have Nothing 2:34
11 How Many Days Have Passed 2:24
12 Night Sounds Loud 2:26

Link : @

Ripped by : evermoreblues
Artwork included

No comments:

Post a Comment

tracker tracker