Saturday, September 27, 2008


The music on Left Foot Down's self-titled debut is undeniably upbeat, thinly veiling a range of classic rock influences such as the Allman Brothers Band, the Grateful Dead, and the Marshall Tucker Band, as well as neo-classic rock influences such as the Black Crowes,Widespread Panic, and moe. The band's three primary songwriters (guitarists J.C. Haun andTrey Sansom along with drummer Brack Owens) tap into a fairly standard array of hippie ideologies in their lyrics to songs like "Familiar Face," "Cold," and others. John Montgomery's "Jumpin'," the disc's lone instrumental, features the horn section from Gran Torino. Mostly, the music is highly derivative, if enjoyable. Most puzzling is the title of the disc's sixth track, "Bird Song," which has the title of a completely different song by the Grateful Dead, one of the group's obvious influences.

Tracklist : 

1 Higher Ground Haun  
2 Familiar Face Sansom  
3 Three Years Gone Owens  
4 Jumpin' Montgomery  
5 Cold Haun, Sansom  
6 Bird Song Sansom, Sansom D.  
7 Psuedo Gold Owens  
8 Going Home Haun  
9 Tin Man Hallmark, Sansom  
10 Lie (I Quite; We're Through) Sansom  
11 Take Haun, Jones, Montgomery   

Ripped by : evermoreblues
Artwork included

No comments:

Post a Comment

tracker tracker